Enhanced Community Quarantine Diary #3: Ang Pamalo

Entry Date 03.17.2020

Okay! Previously, I shared with you a wall tile from our kitchen. During that process, I found another thing which brought back memories.

If you’re not Asian specifically Filipino, then you might not understand this. The traditional way of disciplining kids is using a pamalo or “The Rod of Discipline”.

Parents or grandparents for some, use different things as pamalo. In my case, it’s these two. I think whatever my Abuelita grabs first she uses that one.

A little note this is not a form abuse, okay? Well, it can be but in my case, it is not. My Abuelita only uses this to scare me so I would listen. She doesn’t always use this style because I listen to her most of the time.

If I’m not mistaken, she used this to me when I pet dogs and play too much outside. You see, I have asthma so furry friends are bad for me. And since our house is near a curb, some drivers are not careful. In short, she just wants me safe.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.